all towns and cities should have large public spaces

It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares

and parks. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that the construction of new public spaces such as squares and parks is very crucial. While the presence of these projects could bring about several benefits, I would argue that all towns and cities do not have to build large public spaces.

To begin with, constructing public spaces has many advantages. First, since public spaces are usually equipped with an abundance of sport facilities, this would stimulate physical activities of rural residents who usually have sedentary lifestyles. Consequently, there would be remarkable enhancements in both their mental and physical health. An excellent example of this is Nguyen Hue square in Ho Chi Minh city. This public space attracts not only hundreds of visitors a day but also a considerable number of people going there daily for physical excises. Second, since most tourists are enticed by locations that offer high-quality public places, cities which invest money in building recreational spaces for the public are likely to witness growths in the quantity of tourists. As a result, the economies of these cities would be significantly boosted.

However, I think that the government should not force all towns and cities to build parks and squares. Firstly, metropolis like Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh city are currently facing shortages of land which result from overpopulation. Therefore, finding a land spacious enough to construct recreational places for the public appears to be a challenge. The city authorities might decide to demolish plenty of houses in order to make room for public places, which makes many people lose their houses. Secondly, since constructing and maintaining these places require a great amount of money, cities which have weak financial conditions could encounter imbalances in budget for other sectors. If city officials decide not to build these places, more money would be invested into other urgent needs such as medical care, drainage system and unemployment.

In conclusion, while I recognize that building public spaces is important, I strongly believe that the construction of these places should be based on the current situation of each town and each city