Because of global economy many goods including what we need as daily basis produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Indubitably, the world has witnessed a paradigm shift in trade across countries from past decade. Due to global integration, many consumer goods are exported as well as imported within nations through transportation. Apparently, modernisation and westernisation are to be blamed for this universal phenomenon. However, even though this practice brings about a mixed bag of boon and bane, merits outshines demerits

On the constructive part, transporting of goods from one country to another holds a wide range of favorable benefits which are worth mentioning. First and foremost, trade between nations substantially contributes to an exponential rise in profits of the country exporting articles. Seemingly, nations are producing items in surplus; they can assist in meeting the consumer's demand of another country and can reap the benefit of higher revenue. Secondly, although items imported from long distance are costly, they promote the market base by significantly increasing the variety and choice to customers. Henceforth, people are captivated by the quality and buy these things resultantly nation’s gets advantage of more customer base. Thirdly, Is international trade a prominent platform of employment opportunities? Certainly Yes! This practice of exchange of goods among nations escalates the need of drivers, storekeepers, brokers and many more which stimulates a prolific increase in job prospects of these occupations.

On the destructive part, there are some potential shortcomings from this trend for myriad reasons. Chiefly, even though foreign products attract more customers, they are quite expensive to be affordable by normal folks. When articles are imported from longer distance many duties are imposed on them. Consequently, it leads to a significant rise in price of a commodity. According to BBC, 60% of Indian population prefers to buy Chinese products as compared to American products being the cost a paramount factor. Moreover, export-import of essential things requires a lion's share of investment by a nation. Conspicuously, despite higher profits sometimes provinces confront the potential problem of trade debt. To corroborate, India went into financial crises when it increased its imports last year.

Suffice to say; due to advancement the world has undergone numerous changes being worldwide trading the most prominent. On the brighter side, the trend of transporting products from far places is beneficial as it caters the needs of populace, adds to GDP of a nation and act as a key influencing factor in providing employment. While, on the darker side, countries can suffer from catastrophic effect of higher costs and financial debt.