The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion iby providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that government offering funded trips to the public daily is the best option to decongest road traffic. It is difficult to agree more as will be discussed in this essay.

Authorities providing free transport for their citizens could possibly lead to people abandoning their cars to benefit from the government funded transport system and this will most likely shorten trips and also reduce the number of cars on the road. For instance, a 24 seater bus can accommodate all the occupants of 6 four passenger vehicles, so if we have three 24 seater buses carrying private vehicle owners, a total of 18 vehicles will be off the road and the more cars are off the road the lesser the congestion and the faster the trips.

The availability of free public transport will make life easier for the average citizen because fewer people would patronize privately owned transportation vehicles and this will lead to fewer buses operating which is another form of curbing traffic. For instance, in a survey carried out for a research, government of the republic of Congo provided it's citizens with free transport for a week and the traffic dropped by 30% which was due to the average citizens abandoning privately owned buses which were used to increasing their bus fares unjustly.

In conclusion, people in authority making available free transportation to the general public in order to reduce traffic will most likely reduce the number of vehicles on the roads, hasten road trips and also help reduce the transportation costs of an average man.