In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Human's lifestyle had undergone several dramatic alterations in a recent couple of decades. Days are one where elderly people used to stay with their families to guide them. They nowadays they are opting to stay in an old-age home with the same age people and they are assisted by nurses. In British countries, this is often, and sporadically the governing bodies will pay for these services. I think it is the government responsibility to pay for the care.

One paramount reason that authorities should look after the senior citizens are, they served for the nation (directly or indirectly). In many countries, the minimum retiring age is around 58-60 years, and people need to work for at least 30-35 years for the government or pay an adequate amount of tax if they work in a non-government firm. As a result, they can have some post-retirement benefits. In countries like Canada and Ireland, governments will have some excess tax of 5% of their total income for these benefits and use the money for old-age homes and hospitality. In brief, Its should be a pay-back time for the countries to look after the matured people when they are in need.

Moreover, elderly people are often orthodox and feel that they are a burden to the family. Although, they worked for the family for the whole life, after retirement they do not want to be an obstacle. Additionally, people who are in service commission are entitled to be in a retirement home after the early ages as they worked for the nation to grew up. In a country like India, there are almost 17000 retirement homes allocated to services like army, navy, and air-force. Matured people will be in these houses because they do not want to be a hurdle to their family

In conclusion, people want to live in retirement houses after they grew old. As the government is the prime module who got benefited, it is the task of governing bodies to look after them and pay for their hospitality.