Cambridge IELTS 14 Test I

The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

Do you agree or disagree?

In the future, offline businesses would soon get close in the suburbs and metropolis, owing to the increase in shopping on e-commerce websites. This essay will showcase my agreement on the above statement and discuss how online shops save time as well as money of the customers.

It is apparent that shopping on the internet is convenient and saves a lot of time. In other words, due to the less time available to the people as they are working more than twelve hours per day, they find online platform more appropriate for shopping than going to the physical stores. To exemplify, in a survey by students who were studying marketing at the University of Texas, found that 40 per cent of youngsters prefer to buy the products from Amazon. As a result, the demand for shopping from offline stores fall drastically among students. Additionally, as it is a time-saver for an individual, the saved time can be utilized in other chores of the day.

Another compelling reason is that the products are available on e-commerce websites at low prices as compared to the retail shops. Since they have to strong capital structure and lower overhead cost, they can penetrate the market by directly picking up the material for sale from the manufactures. To illustrate, nowadays, Flipkart, an online seller is selling the items to the customers at the half price, which a traditional shopper sells at the maximum retail price. As a result, the material can be delivered to the customer without the interference of others in the supply chain.

In conclusion, e-shopping has many benefits to the consumer which not only save time but also provide the financial gain. Therefore, it is anticipated that e-commerce companies will acquire the entire market share in the future.

Vocabulary:

Anticipated-regard as probable; expect or predict.