Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now" one big traffic jam".

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

During the past three decades, there has been a rapid increase in car ownership and the traffic jams have spiked in a lot of cities globally, thus leading to “one big traffic jam”.

In my opinion, I believe that having more cars owned by people is definitely becoming the cause of huge traffic jams in many cities throughout the world and the Government should encourage people to use public transport and educate them about environmental hazards.

Authorities should enhance public transport facilities and accurate timing during rush hours. Hence, increasing more public transport, for instance, increasing the number of buses, trains, and metros to popular destinations and even the frequency during rush hours will encourage people to use public transit. Moreover, the big cities can introduce bike ride facilities and bike lanes which will give people one more way of transportation and reaching faster to their work. Furthermore, constructing proper pedestrian roads and sidewalks will encourage people to walk.

Apart from this, the traffic authorities ought to encourage sharing cars or carpooling by educating people. The Government must educate people about the detrimental effects of carbon dioxide which is released by the cars in the environment and should encourage the innovative methods such as carpooling rather than using individual cars, this will save money and time in the long run and thus, the havoc due to traffic jams. For example, people can share their details on the sharing applications on their cell phones and can share a ride, if they have the same destination or colleagues from the same vicinity can share their cars and can take turns to drive.

In conclusion, traffic can be drastically reduced from the roads in metro cites by improving public transport, and by introducing new methods like sharing a car ride.