For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills be made as fourth skill to be added to the list.

To what extent do you agree?

For hundred years, people acknowledge that reading, writing and math have been integral parts of education. However, with the development of the technology, experts believe that computer literacy skill should be added as the fourth skill to the existing list. I completely agree with the statement because of the wide range of usage of computers and better careers with higher compensations.

Firstly, the uses of computers have been increasing in office and education sectors. Moreover, business professionals are now adopting automation systems rather to replace manual and paperwork systems that result the rise of employees with computer skills. Furthermore, computers are widely being replaced in education sectors such as schools, colleges, and universities. For instance, many universities and colleges are providing online lectures and taking computer adaptive test that require strong command in computer. Additionally, while pursing higher studies such as Master's and PhD, students need to conduct research using computer software such as SPSS, and STATA. So, it can be stated that increasing the use of computers at workplace and education sectors demands the higher computer literacy skills.

Secondly, computer skills are essential because of attractive career options with competitive salaries. Nowadays, young people with strong command in computer can choose well-respected occupations such as IT specialist, computer engineers etc. that offer attractive compensation packages. For instance, an IT employee with five years experience in Canada earns on an average $150,000 which is much higher than other professionals such as doctors, accountants and business analysts. Therefore, it can be said that people need computer skills for achieving a top ranked career and earning better compensation at workplace.

To sum up, as computer dependency showed a sharp increase in today's world, so experts acknowledge that computer skill should be adopted as the fourth part along with reading, writing and math. I strongly agree with the statement because computers are now widely using at workplace and education industry and people with computer literacy can enjoy attractive career prospect with attractive compensation.