More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

There is no doubt that technology has rapidly gained popularity among business professionals and common people all over the world. A significant number of companies and persons is preferring to maintain communications through technology instead of meeting in person, which was a common trend in past decades. This essay will explore some of the major merits and demerits of using technology in lieu of face-to-face meeting.

With regards to the businesses for professional purposes, organizations that encourage meeting in online platforms can enjoy greater flexibility in terms of time than the companies that conduct their conversations in person. This is because arranging an internal office meeting is least time consuming and all employees, who work in different departments can participate from their desks without going to the meeting room, which may locate in different floor or complex. As a diverse group of employees from several departments attend the meeting in online, so they can respond to any queries rapidly that results in improving efficiency and productivity of the companies. On the other hand, professionals sometimes face unexpected interruptions and distractions while communicating with each other. Employees while attending an important meeting can get disconnected because of internet issues and they may also get distracted from colleagues if some of them are chatting with each other. This can result in improper understanding of the agenda in the meeting and making errors at work.

In terms of individuals, who conversate socially, they can make new friends easily when using the social platforms such as Facebook, Tweeter, and Instagram. As a significant number of people are using social media, so it’s easier virtually to make unlimited friends and sharing feelings with them than meeting physically. This may result in mitigating to feel isolated and improving communication skills when having conversations with different people from several parts of the world. However, one of the major disadvantages of meeting people online is that people sometimes can be victim of crimes and scams. When talking with someone in online who is probably a hacker, anyone can mistakenly share his/her personal details that may result in breaching of privacy and online robberies.

In the end, though an increasing number of organizations and people is using technology instead of meeting in person for getting flexibility and making new friends, it can result in distractions and interruptions during the meeting for professional purposes and individuals can experience scams and crimes.