More and more business and individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating

Communicating with the help of technology has become more common among corporates and people for formal and casual interactions than direct communication. While this trend has many merits, such as sending rapid messages and effortless meetings, on the other hand, it has some drawbacks, namely depending too much on electronic machines and a decrease in social bonding.

Firstly, the advent of communication devices made a remarkable change in the ways of interacting with people. The main advantage of this development is we can speak with our desired contacts within minutes regardless of their physical location and the distance between us. This method enabled quick information sharing which resulted in fast decision making, and therefore many companies benefited from this and embraced the technology. Secondly, it dramatically reduces the traveling efforts and other difficulties. For example, ten years ago, if candidates wanted to attend an interview, they had to commute to the offices for face to face interviews. Nowadays, screening processes are occurring through Skype and other digital mediums.

However, we are taking the changes very seriously and overusing it. Since direct meetings reduced over the last few years among individuals, it created a void in human relations. Too much of distance communication has affected the social bonds and traditional way of cherishing love and friendship. In the business world, many fraudulent activities prone to happen due to the insecure way of digital meetings.

In conclusion, science and technology have brought many wonders to this world, one of them is communication via electronic inventions. Although we can obtain many excellent results utilizing this improvement in the digital messaging field, we have grave issues waiting for us if we do not regularize this medium.