Childhood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia. As many as two thirds of children are now obese.

Schoools have a responsibility to monitor what their students eat and amount of exercise they do.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Obesity in children is slowly turning into an epidemic in Australia. Most people think that it is attributed to the lifestyle that has recently evolved. I would agree more to the statement as it is obvious that schools could play better role in taming the kids than what they could possibly grasp from home rules administered by parents. This essay will discuss on the details of how far it will be effective if schools take the responsibility to monitor.

Childhood obesity is a growing concern in the lives of Australians. On an average the homes are not enough regulated to administer the kids into what their activity is. Most parents are busy chasing their career growth, life necessity and daily chores. Therefore, as their part to play in the observance and nurturing the kids for a balanced lifestyle becomes hard. It is hard for them to supervise the kids completely on a given weekday due to their own preoccupation. In this situation, school would be the better option for a kid to develop better habits.

Schools play a greater role when it comes to monitoring a kid as it is so viable for them as the kid is being supervised in the class. A school can easily set rules for the kids and demand the follow of such rules. At home with emotional demands they can easily get away from the regulations they are subjected to. The joint study conducted by the "Centre for health and nutrition" and "University of Notre Dame" published its results last year, suprising many parents how their kids become vulnerable to obesity due to their inadequate nurturing of food habits and regular physical activity. Whereas, the schools being the institution of nurturing the future generation should be more responsible in monitoring a kid in matters of food consumption and physical activity.

To conclude, it is so obvious that though parents equally responsible to their kids health and activity, the schools have wider access to a kids life making it possible for them to administer the habits of kids and wherever required implement correction.