Scientist believe that in order to protect the environment, people must use less energy in their daily lives. However, most people have not changed the way they live. Why do you think many people have not taken individual action? What could be done to encourage them to take action?

Protecting the environment is a major concern these days, for which there is greater need in reduction of usage. In fact, people have not changed their habits in the utilization of energy. There are several reasons for people have been ignoring the responsibility to take action. There are couple of ways to convince the people. This essay will discuss the reasons in negligence by people and the ways to persuade them.

The information on the seriousness of the environment damage caused due to the energy consumption has not been conveyed to public properly. Moreover, the damages of the environment is not immediately visible and energy is not only factor. The awareness in the common-people mind is low due to governments lack of interest in the advertisement of the damages that the environment facing at the moment. There is no strict regulation in high consumption of energy.

The University of Sydney has conducted a research with 1000 people from various backgrounds, to check their response after a 30 minutes video on the direct link of increased energy consumption impacting the environment, which, showed about 90% of the people started turning the lights off when there is no need. This shows if more illustrative and impacting awareness programs published in media can persuade people to reduce their usage of energy. The government should also consider introducing slab tariff methods in the pricing of energy and increase the price to 200% , which can change the habits of people, in terms of energy usage.