In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

“A skillful and experienced employee is an asset of a company”

The growth of the company depends on the employee. The company who has understood this fact has started investing on their employees to increase the turnover and thus boost the economy. However, the selection criteria for an applicant can restrict the recruitment of a skillful and valuable person in the company. In this essay I am going to discuss about positive development of company by not rejecting the applicant based on his/her age.

Firstly, skills cannot be assessed or speculated on age basis. For instance: a person might have 5-7 years of experience in a discipline but that does not ensure that he knows in and out about the job. I believe that the ability to complete a job with perfection does not only depend on the amount of years you have spent in a company, but it depends how passionate and dedicated you are towards the job. The same job can be accomplished by a person who has been unemployed for 8 years and know how precious that job is. he might do the job with perfection and have a greater output.

Secondly, discrimination on age basis is unfair at work force. No one should have right to judge the capability of a person based on his age. This is not only inhuman but shows lack of professionalism as well. If Mark Zuckerberg was judged for his age, facebook would have been the topic or theme for sci-fi movies only.

At the end, I would like to conclude that rejecting an applicant because of the age is unethical and is a negative development. If we want to empower the right skill in the workforce to boost the economy, such prejudice should be made illegal.