You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Currently there is a contentious argument over creation of a law that makes it illegal to reject someone for a job based upon their age in some countries. Age of a person is a critical deciding factor for grabbing certain roles in the company. I this that this is a negative development to make it illegal to reject job applicant based on age. In this essay I will discuss why I think it to be a negative development.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of rationale reasons that prove that rejecting an applicant based on his age is totally valid. Different jobs require different skills which are constantly changing with age be it looks, physical stamina, learning ability. For instance, the job of a weight trainer requires lifting heavy loads so it is rationale to reject a senior citizen for this role. A modeling career is rare after age of fifty. Moreover, certain jobs are meant for younger age group as such people are skilled with the latest advances in technology and can do technical work more professionally. For example, when Indian rural banks shifted to computer based data collection from document based it was the fresh graduates who were aware of latest technological developments and shouldered the responsibility well.

On the contrary, some people think that senior citizens are not preferred for any job because of job rejection based on age. I believe that this is not true because experiential learning is gained with age and there are certain roles on management and administrative level that requires senior citizens. For instance, Alibaba group chairman Jack Maa always quotes that twenties is the age of learning and post forty is the age group to employee young employees to work for you.

In conclusion, I believe that rejecting an employee based on his/her age is totally valid and the government of any country should not make these kinds of irrational laws that abolish the companies to select the suitable employees based on age along with other important criteria. Would the governments understand such issue before passing such laws? Still remains a question.