In the modern era, social networking sites such as Instagram, Facebook and Snapchat have become an essential part of our lives. However, a lot of people think that these social networking sites have detrimental effect on society and people. Do you agree or disagree?

Social networking has become an essential part of the routine for everyone. However, social media such as you tube, facebook, snapchat and instagram have detrimental effect on people especially adolescents.

Firstly, people share their happy stories of travelling, cooking, success and parties on social media. Thus, sometime people get depressed by comparing the lives of others with their own lives. According to the latest research increased use of social media is associated with rapid rise in the suicide rate and mental health issues. Moreover, social networking sites such as dating apps are being misused by criminals for abducting, rape, murders and kidnapping purposes. For instance, anyone can have a sneak peek into the personal life of a girl who is proactive on intagram and posts pictures of her daily routine on social media platforms.

On the contrary, others argue that social media has brought the world closer. People can even attend professional meetings via social networking sites such as whatsapp. However, I believe that there are more disadvantages than advantages of using social media. Mob lynching, protests and strikes are often the result of spreading fake news via social media. Moreover, the issue of body image also arises as nowadays people want to look like their favorite celebrities whom they follow on instgram. School children especially teenagers have been reported to remain addicted to their mobile phones instead of communicating personally to the person sitting next to them. This not only increases cognitive health issues but also causes vision problems and insomnia.

In conclusion, I believe that social media is a disadvantage for adolescents as they develop social media addiction. They are too young to understand that in the long run they are wasting their precious time. They could have utilized this time in useful activities such as sports, dance, swimming or playing and remained physically and mentally healthy.