In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There are countries where rejecting people’s job application because of their age is not legal. While such rule should not be applicable for some works, however, I believe that it is a positive change.

Some people are against changes in the age limit because it may distract young people from showing interest in the education. As they will allow to work, many may use it for their advantage and refuse to study and start working to support themselves. Thus, lack of education will have negative consequences in their future life as they may have hard time to advance in their work without proper education.

Nonetheless, eliminating age limit help youngsters to embark on their career at the very young age. Today, many schools offer classes that cover university level courses. Because of this fact people at the age of 16 or 17 have basic knowledge in some areas and can be suitable for the entry positions to gain experience. By working in some jobs young people get better change whether the job they want to work is suitable for them or they should follow another field. Consequently, early experience allows youngsters to gain experience and determine if this work is fitted for them before following it at the university.

In conclusion, although early career may distract young people from going to universities, they can gain experience and determine whether their chosen career fit their desire. Consequently, in such case youngsters get a chance to gain university education in the area which are interesting for them.