At many companies today, applicants are often rejected due to old age.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, many companies reject applicants due to their age. While such rejections can be justified for certain positions, however, I believe that it has pernicious effects.

In very rare cases, companies should have a choice to reject applicants and hire younger ones. This mainly applies to the positions, which require physical power. For instance, any job that includes heavy lifting or delivery service are not suitable for people who may have health issues. Hiring older people to such jobs may have negative impact on people’s health. Consequently, to avoid such issues companies should consider whether an applicant is capable of handling the advertised position.

Nonetheless, I believe that not accepting applications of people after certain age has negative impact. The main reason is that nowadays it is hard to find experienced specialists in various fields. People gain such experience through many years by working side-by-side with other people. Consequently, they are the ones that can share their knowledge with younger people and can act as experts in certain fields. In such case, many companies have an opportunity to benefit from older people by employing them and giving opportunities other to learn from more experienced people. Moreover, governments also gain from such employment. As older people have a stable job, they can retire at later ages. If people are jobless, countries should provide help for such people. Thus, creating work places for older generations lessen the burden from government to provide assistance for citizens.

In conclusion, although older people should be rejected to jobs that require physical activity, in my opinion, in all other cases, all people should be evaluated equally and hired based on their knowledge and work experience, not their age.