Children from 7-11 now spend more time watching television and playing video games than before. What are the effects of this on children, families and society? What are the possible solutions to this problem?

Modern technology has revolutionized almost every aspect of this world, even the way of spending time by growing buds. These days, young ones spend most of their time on electronic gadgets which cast an adverse effect on them. This essay will suggest that social isolation and health issues are the main effects and then argue that encouraging kinder for physical activities and supervision by parents are viable solutions.

The prominent effect of devoting time to playing games is getting detached from society. Children spend a sizeable amount of time on digital screens due to adverse means of entertainment provided by these devices which tends to alienate them by separating them from their family and friends, thus they are generally confined under the four walls of the house and hardly get the time to speak with family members, therefore this gives the rise to communication gap between parents and their growing buds. A recent study has shown that budding minds who spend the majority of their time playing games and watching television have more clashes with their guardians. Moreover, this practice gives rise to some health issues such as visual and hearing impairments.

A prominent solution to curb this issue is to aware young minds about physical activities. These activities are generally carried out in health centers where they can meet new people which will not only help them to strengthen their relationship with other people but also improve their mental and physical health. Apart from this, the onus rests on the shoulders of parents to keep an eagle eye on the actions of their young ones which can help to alleviate the problem to some extent. A recent survey was conducted in a society in which it is felt that children who are monitored by their birth givers are less prone to fall prey of modern technology.

In conclusion, the habit of remaining glued to screens all the time by teenagers affects them badly. This essay suggests that widening gap between family members and physical issues are the main impacts; however, some proactive steps should be taken by parents to motivate children towards work out and supervise them properly to eradicate this problem.