Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which three you consider the most effective.

Comic

Books

Radio

Television

Film

Theater

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In modern days, we share our knowledge and experience by combining the written, verbal, visual and body language. Television, radio, and film are the most productive forms of communication among all different combinations. This essay will, regarding their effectiveness, discuss both advantages & disadvantages of these media.

Television is one of the must-have home appliances. The widely broadcast content, deliver with motion picture and sounds, are the most comprehensive and primary resources of information for every family. The only weakness is that the audience must have to sit tight in front of the screen in order to receive the full context. The viewer will get lost to a TV drama by hearing the dialogue without watching the scene when you are away from the television, say, kitchen.

Radio has a unique attribute which allows the audience to receive the messages by only hearing. It is the most popular media for workers who can keep doing their task while listening to the radio programmes. On the downsides, the absence of the body and visual language leads to inaccurate delivery of the content and relies on the imagination of the listener.

Film condenses long story which cost lesser time for the audience to read the plot. With the help of cinematography and audio design, the messages are present in a higher dimension compared to the other media. However, film has its limitation as a unilateral communication media. There is no interaction between the audiences and the storytellers hence no further details could be asked or clarified.

Although these three media have different disadvantages, the advantages are overall better than the rest in transmitting messages. And I believe that television, radio, and film will still among the highest efficiency of the communication media in the future.