Space exploration is much too expensive and the money should be spent on more important things.

What is your opinion?

The cost for the expedition to the universe is massive, only a few numbers of the country in the world could afford to launch rockets. Recently, even the United States, the most wealthy and powerful nation, has stopped their space program. I am on the side of such suspension to space exploration and shifting the budget to other much essential matters.

First of all, the actual amount of expenses on space research is way more than the numbers that people would assume. The entire cost would not be only counted on the rocket launching, but some necessary stages, like early research, development, training, maintenance, and post-mission analysis, etc., should also be calculated in terms of both money and time. Therefore, if such humongous resources could be moved out from exploring other planets, it will bring some significant changes to the people who live on this planet earth.

There are many things have higher priority than the journey to space, such as the cure for diseases and poverty. As life is the most important thing to all of us, it is much wise to allocate the capital and workforce to the research of incurable diseases like cancer and AIDs. Moreover, if we gave up the study of the universe, we could have sufficient power to aid poverty through education. Rather than seeking the unknown from outer space, the investment on education, such as building more school and rising the teacher to student ratio, is a guaranteed down-to-earth solution to problems for the present and future.

In conclusion, while the study of space may be academically necessary, I believe the money should be much more appropriate to spend on education and hence solving all problems from the root.