Conducting Sports events such as Olympic or world cup encourage people to live healthy. While some people indicate that there are various other methods to remain healthy. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although major events like Olympics and World Cup persuade people to adopt healthy lifestyle, many people consider that this is not the only way to stay healthy. I believe that mega sports events promote healthy lifestyle, however, they also involve hefty amounts for arrangements. Therefore, other simple basic ways to keep oneself healthy are way more effective than such major events.

At the one side, people find international sports event very persuading for healthy living because these events have huge impacts on their minds. Many people admire fitness, stamina and success of athletes and sports players, due to which they also aspire to follow a healthy pattern of living so that they could become like them. However, such fancy and fascinating events need a huge setup as well as money to arrange; it is not possible to organize them often. Owing to this reason they can lower down their influence from the minds of people.

On the other side, one school of though believe that the urge to spend a healthy life does not depends only on sports events. Even many nations which have never participated in such events ever, they are more indulged into healthy lifestyle. Japan, for instance, is one of the healthiest and fittest nations in the world whereas it never participated in Olympics. It heavily relies on its centuries-old traditional living which is considered the most organic and Eco-friendly. In this case, sports events are not playing any substantial role so far. Similarly, diet is indispensable part of healthy living. It has not any association with international sports culture while it is purely relevant to one’s own preferences. No matter how many sports events are organised for encouraging people to live healthy, they cannot be fit unless they eat healthy.

In my opinion, while sports can encourage people to become more active and energetic, it is still not adequate to motivate people to exercise a healthy living. If this was the case, people would not watch matches sedentarily in front of TV screens, but would be found in play grounds. Therefore, spending a large amount of money on sports events with a hope of encouraging people to be healthy is unfair, other methods like traditional ways of living and eating should also be taken on board to get better results.