Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In past few decades as a result of industrialization the world has turn into a global market. Some people hold the belief that having local products available across are the globe could have some negative implications.However, I tend to agree with the statement only up-to a some extent.

The first point worth making is that products are at near to customers than ever before because of globalization. For instance, a product made in Japan for Japanese people is being sold across the US. Having such a feature has multifarious benefits; it increases the sales opportunity for everyone, your commodities as a producer is not restricted to own country; national boundaries dissolve and you become a global retailer. The resulting world would be a one big country with no separation based on race or border.

Contrastingly, having our planet as a single country would have its own set of drawbacks. Especially, if all countries are same there will not be any cultural diversity among them and since the market always crater to demands of the public, there would be need of only specific commodity instead of having a variety.

Another point that needs to be considered is if all global products are being purchased it would have detrimental effect on the local markets and sellers as their items could be side-lined.

In conclusion, I would opine that having same items available across the globe is advantageous. However, few points such as decline of cultural diversity and local brands getting outpaced by multi-national corporations are points worth considering.