Countries around the world will be facing significant challenges relating not only to the environment, but population and education as well.

What problems will your country face in the next ten years?

How can these problems be overcome?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Issues related to the environment, population and education will in the near future become a major concern all over the world. India is no exception to this, considering the ever-growing population and the resultant challenges that come with it. This essay will discuss the problems that India will face with regards to the said issues and how these can be mitigated.

India’s population is only marginally lesser than China’s, which is the most populous country in the world. Over population results in additional pressure on the limited resources of the country consequently adversely affecting the environment as well. For e.g. Delhi, which is the capital of India, has such high amounts of Air Pollution that it is declared unfit to live in. This is due to the large number of vehicles that the residents use to ply in every day. Additionally, India also has a high birth rate which means that there is an increasing demand for affordable educational facilities. Unfortunately, the country is unable to meet this need, leading to many people being deprived of quality education. More than 50% of the people in India are Non-literate.

To overcome these challenges, first the government should encourage its citizens, through effective policies and schemes, to limit the number of children that they have. Secondly, environmental friendly alternatives should be sought for human activities that are harmful to the environment. For example, a few car manufacturing companies have introduced Electric cars that can be an effective substitute to vehicles that run on fuel. Thirdly, free and quality education for all needs to be on top of the state’s priority, because a population that is aware would be more conscious and a responsible one.

I would like to close by saying that, though population explosion, environmental degradation and lack of education opportunities are real issues that everybody may face in the coming times, there are ways in which they can be brought under controlled or at least their effects be reduced. It would take dedicated and persistent efforts on the part of the authorities at large and the community as a whole.