Write about the following topic:

A healthy person is often described as someone who has a good diet, gets plenty of exercise and avoids stress.

What should people do to stay healthy in your country?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The key to good health is regular exercise, healthy eating habits and stress management. In today’s competitive world with the common man struggling and working hard to survive, it is extremely important to find time for one’s own physical as well as mental well-being. This essay will discuss, what people should do to lead a healthy lifestyle.

Firstly, employers should provide facilities or encourage the use of gyms, swimming pools, yoga and meditation centres, since people spend majority of their day at their workplace. For example, Google has regular yoga sessions per week in their office campuses and employees can attend these free of cost when they feel like. They also have a gym, cycles on rent and sports facilities which are located in the premises and are for at no cost or at a minimal cost which makes it easy to access.

Secondly, considering the lack of time or inclination that everybody has these days for cooking food at home, there is a need for more healthy eating options at both office cafeterias as well as restaurants so that people are not forced to eat fatty foods or fast food on a regular basis. If along with the usual food choices equally tasty, gluten-free, oil-free and sugar-free options of the same menu are offered, a lot of people would prefer to eat those. For example, ‘Sante-se-spa’ a popular restaurant in Pune, India, serves a variety of food options like pizzas, pastas, etc. but all made from healthy alternatives to refined flour.

Thirdly, management of stress is extremely important. Work related stress and unhealthy lifestyle are major Long working hours and high job pressure is one of the major reasons for suicides among I.T. professionals in India. Organisations need to be more sensitive and flexible especially regarding their working hours. For example: Hotstar doesn’t have fixed working hours, they allow employees to come and go as they wish and also allow an option to work from home occasionally. Additionally, there is no limit on the number of leaves a person working there can take. Such lenient policies give employees the space to spend time with their family and even pursue hobbies. More workplaces need to adopt and replicate such working cultures in order to ensure happy and productive employees.

In conclusion, I would say that it is important to pay attention to the needs of your body and mind. In order to cope with day-to-day problems, the mind needs to be stress-free and the body to be active and strong. This is possible only if each person takes it upon himself to find the time and motivation to remain fit.