As countries become more industrialized, more people move from the countryside to urban areas. What are some problems caused by this and how can we solve them?

Nowadays, people worldwide from all age groups are concerned about the increasing issue of obesity resulting from the over-consumption of fast food and inactive lifestyles. Therefore, the government and everyone needs to take action by implementing possible solutions. This essay will discuss the reasons for overweighing and propose some measures to decline the high rates.

Firstly, the main reason for the rise in obesity is the high intake of fast food such as chips, hamburgers, and fried chicken. Apart from being tasty, this kind of food offers little or no nutritional value to the human body. The mass-produced food industry has ongoing development, and people tend to consume processed food due to their busy life. After a hectic time at work, they would buy packaged meals in the supermarket or get a takeaway than eat home-cooked meals. Moreover, preparing food in advance is time-consuming. To tackle this problem, the government should increase the tax on purchasing junk food, which would help reduce a large amount of consumption. Besides, local councils could launch campaigns and programs to raise residents’ awareness of the dangers of obesity caused by eating fast foods, for instance, heart disease and diabetes.

Secondly, another cause of being fat is an inactive lifestyle. A busy life leads people to come home and lie in bed instead of going to the gym. Employees are exhausted after a long day at work. Furthermore, more and more youngsters prefer sitting in front of the TV and computer to entertainment and refusing exercise. Couch potatoes and inactive people are easy to become overweight. Therefore, a solution that can address the problem is that companies should build in-house gym facilities and stimulate their employees to keep fit. Schools should encourage students to exercise, and adults can be a positive example for their children by playing sports with them.

To sum up, obesity is undoubtedly associated with the unhealthy lifestyles of humankind. This issue cannot be ignored but addressed by communities and individuals.