One of the most serious problems that cities now face is crime. Why are crime rates increasing in cities? What are the most effective measures to tackle crime in urban areas?

Violent crime is deeply rooted in some developing countries, particularly in big cities. Urban citizens are now facing a large number of criminals who commit violent crimes owing to economic deprivation and heroine and alcohol addiction. In order to deal with this problem, the government and each person need to take action. There are various solutions which should be implemented. This essay will indicate the significant causes of violent criminalization and offer measures to bringing down high rates.

Firstly, poverty is one of the main reasons for violent offense. In fact, there are fewer jobs than applicants in big cities, which resulted in widespread deprivation of unemployed people. The poor do not have the means to secure a living in right ways and invest their time in criminal activities to get what they wants. Moreover, the wealth inequality and insufficient living condition is driving the poor to involve in gangters organization that makes money from collecting illegal debts, threatening people, kidnaping, blackmailing or even murdering. To tackle this issue, the government should create more jobs opportunities for unemployed people to acquire adequate life. Furthermore, local authority ought to hire more police officers to improve security, which would keep local people safe and decline crime rates.

Secondly, alcohol and drugs are considered the factors which lead people to a life of violence. Under the influence of alcohol, the brain’s functions can change and make people unintentionally start fights or physical assault others. Similarly, drugs addiction urges addicts to fill up drugs every minute of day, otherwise, it can make them lose control, lead to damage behaviour and hurt their loved ones. The way forward must be taken by the government as well as each person. Legislation should be enforced and violent criminals have to be punished strictly by the governmeny. Schools should carry out programs and extracurriculars for students to raise awareness of the dangers of alcohol and drugs. Adults should be good examples of healthy lifestyle for children to follow.

In conclusion, apart from poverty, drugs and alcohol addiction is also the main contributor to acts of violence in big cities and several measures are suggested to handle the situation. This problem should be adressed as soon as possible, for instance, creating jobs, improving security, punishing offenders strictly by the government, enhancing consciousness of the threat of alcohol consumption.