As countries develop, people tend to buy more and more cars. Do you thing the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Due to the change in the lifestyle, people have evolved themselves from two-wheeler to the four-wheeler. Some are of the opinion that it has more benefits and is making their life convenient. In my opinion, purchasing cars can bring more benefits to people and hazardous effects on environment can be mitigated.

To begin with, there are several factors why purchasing cars can be beneficial. Firstly, travelling to different places will become easier when individuals will have their own vehicles instead of utilizing the public transport. It helps in managing their time and is more comfortable. For example, when going on any vacation with family, especially with the young ones, taking stops in between the journey become easier; else this is very cumbersome on the bus.

Another reason is that, these days, there is a plethora of fuel efficient cars available in the market and it becomes economical when commuting on cars at the daily basis, rather, spending a large amount of money on using a taxi service. Sometimes, taxis are not even available in the case of any emergency and the cost also becomes double when one has to hire a cab service regularly. For instance, the cab service providers such as Uber, Ola always surge their prices during the peak hours which are generally the office hours and customers have to pay more than the standard amount.

Despite owning a car provides myriad advantages, there are also multifarious serious consequences on our environment. Currently, almost every household is having at-least one four-wheeler and as a result, the traffic is increasing day-by-day, which is the main source of pollution. The humans do not clean the smoke filters of their vehicles regularly and let the poisonous gases emitted into the sky. To illustrate, in metropolitan cities such as Delhi, Mumbai, the quality of air is deteriorating due to dangerous smoke transmitted from the vehicles.

To conclude, although there are some negatives of the cars, the positives outshine them. As, they are not only the cause of environmental problems, still the human beings can save the natural resources by buying electric cars in place of the ones that run on the fuels.