As countries develop, people tend to buy more and more cars. Do you thing the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

The issue of people using cars more and more has a prominent benefits for people, but it brings dramatic damages to the environment. While advantages concerns only some group of individuals, the disadvantages influencing the environment, hence all of the Earth population, bring inevitable consequences.

Private transport in cities is the perfect way for citizens to commute between destinations fast, while staying in a comfort zone. It is always preferable for some individuals to use their personal cars to drive to work and back, because it gives them a feeling of independence and comfort, rather when using alternative means of transport. For example, in Russia, public transport is very unpopular, because its conditions and services are very poor, so, a great deal of citizens would use private transport. So, by using private cars, people avoid discomfort and stress which is very common, while using public transport.

But, looking from a global perspective, personal comfort is not important at all, when pollution and waste disposal damage the Earth dramatically, consequently, each dweller of the planet. Considering the majority of people using fossil fuels in their cars, the oil industry produces huge amounts of waste and cars evaporate astonishing amounts of gases into the air which is one of the main reasons for the greenhouse effect. Hence, by using private transport people prefer their own comfort, ignoring the global impact, which is more crucial in global terms.

In conclusion, while the benefits of using private cars are a pleasant way of commuting from one point to another, this comfort costs a great deal in terms of environment safety. The pollution and oil industry waste impact on a whole population of a planet, hence brings more disadvantages for the environment, rather than advantages for people.