Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Nowadays some countries have encountered an alarming problem of wasting large amounts of food from the shops and restaurants. There are some reasons for that phenomena, which cause such an effect, but happily some solutions to these problems exist.

The foremost for people throwing away food from the shops and restaurants is the food industry, that encourages people to acquire more, even though people do not require such an abundance. For example, in the USA, it is very popular to purchase big packages of groceries, just because it is cheaper than buying the same items one by one. Hence, customers end up buying goods in store which gone bad long before the chance of being consumed. So, the only way here is for people to be more conscientious in their purchases by buying only the amount they need, which can be done with some leaflets with information in shops and inspecting their fridges to estimate the loss.

The most practical solution here for people to stop throwing food away will be a government-sponsored awareness program. An effective advertising campaign could warn of the consequences and hopefully, raise awareness amongst the public. For example, an advertising campaign unveiling how much food people throw away in monetary equivalent will show the unnecessary expenses, which could be spent in a more reasonable way such as charity or just basic improvements for people themselves.

In conclusion, wasting food is a crucial problem which is stemmed in the food industry encouraging people to buy more goods for cheap prices, hence they do not feel the loss in case of throwing food away. So, by educating people about being more conscientious in buying groceries will resolve this issue.