The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve a crime.Do you agree or disagree?

Technology has benefited mankind in myriad disciplines such medical, communication, agriculture and so on on, where national and international security has been profited immensely with its introduction. A decline in the crime rates have been observed as compared to the past when use of technology was rare. In my opinion, technology can reduced physical crimes happening around the world, but not the cyber crimes.

One of the conspicuous reasons in the decline of such incidents is by virtue of an increase in the fear of committing crime among people. This is because various devices such as walkie-talkies, radios, pagers and many more have been invented by which the communication between police officials have become fast, easy and convenient. Having better message transmission among officials significantly reduces the response time between the incident happening and cops arrival on the spot to abduct criminals. For example, emergency numbers such as 100 in India and 911 in the USA are facilitated to report about an incident’s information immediately, so that the nearest police official can arrive at the spot in no time, thereby, magnifying the chances of capturing criminals. Observing and reading such incidents have thrilled people, and have refrained them from committing evils.

On the other hand, where it has controlled negatives, it has also given birth to a new problem, called cyber crime, which can sparingly be resolved by increasing security personnel due to a myriad of reasons. One evident reason is that such crimes are conducted offsite, and identifying the crime location is tedious and time-consuming. Moreover, online transactions happen at the speed of light, making it impossible for cops to reach the crime location before happening hence strengthening criminals to conduct a crime calmly. For example, if money is transmitted from one account to other, it will get transferred in a fraction of second which is way less than its trace and cops response time.

To recapitulate, although technology advancement can minimize and prevent physical crimes, yet it is not profound enough in resolving virtual incidents faster, and needs further advancement and research to control in future.