Culture is turning similar around the world. What are the reasons? What are the positive and negative aspects?

Culture is the same throughout the world. This essay will discuss the reasons for it and evaluate whether it is a positive or a negative trend.

There are many reasons why culture is becoming the same. Firstly, globalization has taken over the world. This means that international markets have made their presence every where in the world. As a result, the same things are available to people. Travelling is another reason for this. When someone travels they adopt the culture of that place and bring it back to their home country. Take pottery as an example. This art form has travelled all the way through India to Sri Lanka. Now pottery is a part of Sri Lankan culture.

Online shopping is another factor contributing to this. Due to the internet, buying items online has become easy. Global products are available from the comfort of one's home. For instance, Amazon.com has a specified category for international products. This enables the customers to buy products related to other cultures when needed.

In my opinion, this is a negative trend. One of the main reasons is the loss of traditional art and culture. Younger generation, for example, is more attracted towards the glitz and glam of international world. To show off in front of their peers, they value and adopt the culture of other countries. Due to this they do not intend to learn about their own country's heritage or culture. Furthermore, loss of traditional culture, art and heritage leads to loss of cultural identify.

In conclusion, considering the aforementioned view, in my opinion, cultures becoming the same is a negative trend as it leads to loss of cultural identity that makes each nation unique.