Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

These days, people do not use bicycles as a major vehicle anymore in spite of the positive impact on the environment than other means of transportation. In this essay, I will discuss the causes of this situation and the measures to promote the usage of bicycles.

There are a host of reasons concerning this issue. Obviously, biking is more inconvenient than any other vehicle due to the speed and the physical demand. When people are going somewhere including workplaces or vacations, they will consider cars, motorbikes, and airplanes but not bicycles because riding a bike is really a waste of their time especially for citizens who are lean towards being chill out before going anywhere. In addition, biking also makes people feel exhausted when they get to their workplaces or their educational institutions as bikes offer a lot of energy to ride. Because of that, they will not concentrate on their works or their studies. On top of that, the effect of geographic features also declines considerably the usage of bicycles. For some commuters, bicycles are definitely not an optional choice when the weather at the time is awfully terrible such as torrential rain or heat waves. Owing to this problem, people would rather ride a motorbike or drive a car than cycling. According to the USA survey, 90% of citizens have their own bikes but 70% do not prefer bikes to any other vehicles because of the inconvenience of bicycles in any situation in human daily life.

Although biking maybe make you feel a bit uncomfortable, it is actually a phenomenal way to work out and helps you to get lean. Due to its positive impact on humans, we should have some solutions to encourage people to cycle more and more. For one, the government should advise residents to raise awareness of the biking perks. When citizens realize the strengths of cycling, they might change their opinion about cycles because it is significant that everyone is want to keep them in a good shape. What is more, applying cyclist-friendly infrastructure is the first step in promoting cycling, and it is vital in helping people make the switch. One of the most essential things that can be done to provide cyclists a sense of safety when riding among fast-moving automobiles is to create bike lanes on motorways or create cycle pathways in public parks.

To sum up, a massive number of people are not big on bicycles because of the inconvenience of it, but they actually forget about cycles benefits on the environment. On account of this problem, we should have some suitable measures to motivate residents to bike more including propagating them to raise awareness of cycling and building more cyclist construction that is friendly for people in particular and environment in general.