Cycling to work should be encouraged in big cities.

In urban areas, people are motivated to use bicycle for commuting to the workplace. In my opinion, cycling has tremendous benefits on health and an environment, so encouraging people to use cycle would definitely prove beneficial.

To begin with, there are compelling reasons to encourage the population to use bicycle, The foremost reason I believe is the exercise it gives to the body. Admittedly, if the person travels in a car, he sits still and his body gets no exercise, while cycling gives exercise to the body. As most of the people have sedentary jobs, they do not get enough time to go to fitness centre or exercise at home. Thus, taking cycle to office should fulfill this need. For example, my colleague started coming to office on bi-cycle to reduce his weight when it was suggested to him by his doctor.

Another reason to use cycle to work is due to the fact that bi-cycle is eco-friendly option to travel and it helps in conservation of the environment. The metro-cities are seen crowded with motors and buses and have polluted the environment significantly. In this case, bi-cycle is environment friend and does not emit any harmful smoke as fuel-based vehicles do. Therefore, the non-polluting option of cycle certainly helps in contributing towards the better environment, when the world is facing serious issue of pollution and global warming.

On the contrary, it is evident that the cycle takes more time in comparison to a car or a bike. In other words, an employee has to spend more time while travelling to destination. Unequivocally, if he uses other vehicles, he reaches faster and can use time effectively. Consequently, many workers do not prefer bicycle to commute on daily basis.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that although bicycle is slow and takes more time to reach office, its usage should be preferred due to the enormous benefits it has on the health of the body along with the protection of an environment.