With deforestation, urban development and illegal hunting, many animal species are becoming endangered as they lose their habitat and some are even threatened to the point of extinction.

Do you think it is important to protect animals? What measures can be taken to deal with this problem?

The continuing destruction of forest and increasing of urbanization is a catastrophe for the global biosphere. Also, due to poaching, many animals are becoming endangered. However, I, believe it is crucial to preserve animals as we are dependent on them. There is a range of measures that could be implemented to solve this issue.

To begin with, everything in nature is inter-linked. Perhaps, removal of one animal will agitate the balance of nature and even change the ecosystem completely. As a result, it may lead other animals to suffer. For an instance, a mouse seems small and insignificant, but snake depends on them and hawk depends on the snake in the food chain. So, extinction of mouse would lead to the threatening of life to further animals. Thus, it can notice how conservation of animals is of paramount importance in order to maintain the organic phenomenon.

However, there are a number of ways to curb the issue of endangered animals. Firstly, the government should introduce more awareness campaigns targeting the preservation of animals. More programs need to be launched which give emphasis on the local nature reserve, afforestation and volunteering programs to save wildlife habitats. Lastly, the government has to prohibit products which are made from endangered animals such as rhino horns. Moreover, vendors selling such products must heavily penalize as this will make fear of hunting animals and it will help to regulate animal killing. To exemplify, Singapore banned exports of goods made from elephant’s teeth and skin of Tiger. Also, those who violate the rule will be imprisoned for 5 years.

To conclude, each and every animal contributes a significant role in the food chain that's why they must preserve. Only when the government will make strict rules against illegal hunting and create various awareness campaigns, will this situation be remedied.