With deforestation, urban development and illegal hunting, many animal species are becoming endangered as they lose their habitat and some are even threatened to the point of extinction.

Do you think it is important to protect animals? what measures can be taken to deal with this problem?

Several wildlife species are facing the danger of being extinct due to the rise in human activities such as poaching, urbanisation and cutting down of trees human habitation. This is causing loss of their habitation and some are being pushed to the verge extinction. In my opinion, wildlife conservation should be one of the paramount responsibilities, since ecological imbalance could adversely affect humans as well.

For many centuries, human beings and animals have lived in harmony, as a result, the former was able to hunt for food and create homes for themselves. However, the extinction of animals can be detrimental to the human species, therefore, it is imperative to protect them. Furthermore, if a certain species go extinct this would adversely affect the natural food chain and indirectly cause harm to the people as well. To illustrate it further, a predatory species such as a fox is hunted down, there will be an increase in the number of rabbits, which can eat saplings and seeds and destroy crops. There is a symbiotic relationship that we all share with nature. Humans are encroaching animal habitat for building their houses many trees are cut down for construction. Thus, they are unable to protect themselves and it is our responsibility to conserve them.

Pursuing this further, the government should prohibit land development in areas where endangered species are living. That location which is inhabited by wildlife should be considered as 'green belt' by law and there should be a penalty for construction or poaching activity. Additionally, strict laws should be passed against poaching and guards should be placed to protect places where there is wildlife habitation. Illegal hunting for sport should be banned, which will save many species and harsh punishment should be given to those involved in killing animals. Finally, People should support animal rights groups by donating or taking responsibility for looking after food and medicine cost of animals that threatened by human activities such as illegal game hunting. This can help save many species from starvation and protect them from hunters.

To sum up, protection of wildlife is vital because they cannot save themselves from the increasing human activities that are threatening them, moreover, animal species help find many medical cures. Humans should take more steps to save endangered species or they will be lost to us forever. Government and individuals can work towards conservation and saving animals who are endangered.