Nowadays international tourism is the biggest industry worldwide. Unfortunately, sometimes it creates tension between people from different cultures, instead of better understanding. Why do you think it is happening and how can it be improved?

In modern times there has been a surge in foreign travel all over the world. However, this surge has many times led to misunderstandings between visiting travellers and natives of the countries due to cultural differences and language barriers.

To begin with, the booming travel industry attracts millions of travellers to various countries globally. This, therefore, creates an atmosphere of interaction between different cultures. Additionally, several cultural practices could be interpreted differently according to their country of origin. For example, showing your thumb sign is interpreted as a good luck gesture in American tradition, however, in Iran, it will be an insult. Secondly, the language barrier has been seen as a major reason that travellers are unable to interact with the locals. This creates confusion in terms of communication between the individuals.

Pursuing this further, the visiting individuals must be better informed about the country of visit, to avoid certain problems during their visit. Furthermore, The government must also provide booklets of information at the airports regarding their varied practices, which might not be familiar to the visitor. This provides a better understanding to the visitors about the practices they might encounter are not aware of. No one would want to offend their hosts.

In conclusion, tourism brings the world closer and travel should be made easier if there are fewer setbacks due to cultural or communication barriers. Travellers could visit any country without hassle if they are better informed and have more information distributed by the government to help global citizens to travel comfortably and with no misunderstandings.