An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The modern education system is becoming more reliant on technology to teach children in schools. Books and print materials replaced with high tech devices. Though such a trend has shown many positive aspects for the physical wellbeing of the students, however, there are certain psychological drawbacks as well.

On the one hand, there are several advantages due to the use of technology in primary education. Firstly, children do not have to carry the heavy burden of books to the school. Due to the load of the books, several students face back issues in there growing years. It affects their posture and gait as well. Secondly, paper can have a low resistance to water and weather. Any minuscule wear and tear will destroy the book. Therefore, the students would have to pay again to buy the book.

On the other hand, tablets and computers can be obsolete after a few years of use. They cannot be passed on to one generation to another as books can. Likewise, they can be damaged, and the cost of repair would be enormous. Additionally, youngsters of impressionable age can also get distracted with the applications downloaded on their desktops or iPad. For Example, students would use their laptops for checking social media accounts, instead of writing their assignments.

To sum it up, technology can be a two-edged sword. It can help children learn; however, it may also disrupt their studies.