Nowadays, people have more opportunities to access different sources of information, which enables them to gain more knowledge. However, there is a fact that numerous people are still unable to read or write. This essay firstly will discuss the drawbacks of illiteracy and then it will provide solutions for the government.

To begin with, there are two disadvantages for illiterates. Firstly, illiterates have certain limitations to pursue a good career. People are living in a knowledge-based society, so employees are required to learn new concepts and new technologies in order to improve their career. Consequently, illiterates will find it difficult to read and comprehend books to enhance their knowledge for a professional job. Besides the disadvantage related to career, illiterates will also have difficulty to communicate with other people. They might feel hesitate to communicate with others because of the differences in education level.

While Illiterates facing some certain drawbacks, there are two solutions that the government should consider it. Firstly, governments should provide financial support to families. Many poor families do not have enough money to bring their children to school, so the authorities should fund more budget for them. Secondly, governments need to work with schools to introduce online courses. Young generations nowadays have access to the Internet; so, they can take advantage of e-learning which is a powerful tool that allows individuals to approach higher education.

In conclusion, illiterates are not only have less chance to improve their employment, but they are also unable to maintain their social status, so the government should allocate more budget and encourage e-learning which will enable more children to come to school.