In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is important to consider the impact that the developed world's increasing life expectancy will have on both societies and their citizens. This essay will explore some of the main problems which might arise and propose some ways to mitigate these issues.

With regards to individuals, one of the main concerns is likely to be the cost of living. This is because as a greater number of people live out more of their lives in retirement, they may run out of money in their pensions pot and thus have to depend on their families for financial support. For instance, a man who starts work at 20, retires at 60 but lives to be 100 will have spent only two-fifths of their life in making money. To combat this problem, government should raise the retirement age. By doing this, humankind will be better prepared to cover the cost of their extended lives.

As for societies, the most pressing problem is usually unemployment. Particularly if the aforementioned measure of raising the retirement age is implemented, more and more people will be in work and therefore there will be fewer and fewer jobs go around. Thus young people especially will find difficult to break into their desired professionals. Dealing with this issue involves government investment in new technologies in order to create new jobs in the fields of work. With new technologies appear new jobs, therefore plugging the potential hole in employment.

In conclusion, the two of the main dangers for societies and individuals which a longer lifespan may present are financial troubles and joblessness. However, these issues should be minimized if government raises the age of retirement and spends wisely in new technologies.