In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing population

Population in developed countries is living longer than ever before. This essay will discuss the main problems resulting from increased life expectancy including living a longer retirement life for individuals and increase in healthcare spend of older population. This essay will also suggest solutions to these problems including individual awareness to invest in retiral funds and tax on healthcare.

Increase in the average life of people living in developed countries has led to increase in amount of time people have to live after retirement. In addition, this is also increasing the amount of people who should be served under government-funded healthcare programs for older generation. For example, developed countries offer allowances and free healthcare to its non working population. Increase in life expectancy has increased the amount of people who are eligible for these benefits. This is one of the causes of recession in some developed countries. Thus advancement in healthcare has resulted in improved healthcare but has also introduced problems mentioned above.

Government should introduce measures like making investments in retiral funds mandatory and increase tax on working population to address the issues resulting from increased life expectancy. Working population needs to be educated that these measures are being introduced to serve them better when they grow older. For instance, if money from retiral fund is available for older people to spend on their day-to-day life and if part of government’s spends on healthcare of older people can be funded through tax on working population then it will help in addressing the issues arising out of increased life expectancy.

Average life of people is increasing in developed world. This essay discussed the main issues resulting from this including longer retirement life and increase in cost of healthcare for old people. This essay also suggested solutions like introduction of retiral funds and increase in tax on working population to discuss the issues of increased life expectancy