In the modern world, with the advance of technology, human life expectancy has been increasing at a rapid rate. This essay will discuss the two most important related problems, including increasing the risk of disease, disabilities, and dementia for the elderly and put pressure on countries’ economies. Our essay will also suggest some simple solutions, including increasing retirement age, and getting help from technology.

With thanks to healthier lifestyles, sufficient food, and improve medical care, people live longer so, as countries grow older, several related problems can be anticipated, like growing risk of disease and severe impact on countries’ economies. The main issue is that many people will be eligible to receive a pension so, it will directly affect the GDP index. On the other side, increasing life expectancy causes increased morbidity, and the demand for healthcare will increase. For example, 30% of the population over 60 in the UK become demented and need special care. As can be seen, a growing average of age-rate causes many vital problems, even for developed countries.

Several actions can be taken by governments to alleviate these destructive effects. Firstly, a simple solution would be to increase the retirement age, like from 60 to 70. This slight change can have a very strong effect on countries’ GDP index. Secondly, by investing and developing artificial intelligent robots, the healthcare system can be improved substantially. In this case, the elderly patient can get services from AI robots instead of nurses, which saves a lot of money on medical expenses. These solutions show how governments can decrease the influence of the main issue on the economy and healthcare system.

Although rising in average life expectancy causes vital problems, there are some simple solutions to prevent severe effects. This essay discussed two main related issues and also suggested some simple solutions in detail.