Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Many convicts after penalize tend to do crime works again. This essay will discuss the main cause of the propensity to do illegal works by wrongdoers even after punishments and also suggest solutions to this problem, including developing rehabilitation centres and investing in improving the amount of study while the criminals are in prison.

Whit a little deep research, it is revealed that many criminals have the same backgrounds in the lack of educations as well as family similarities like unemployment and poverty. Due to a lack of technical and practical skills, these people have no chance to get a job, so they deprived of income. Statistics show that more than 60% of offenders do not have any work experience, and 40% of them have no work experience and regular income. Therefore, it can be seen that a lack of skills and education can be an important factor in leading people to crime.

Having a special look at developing the rehabilitation centers and encourage prisoners to study can have a great impact on reoffending index. In the mentioned center, prisoners can learn practical skills and gain experiment, and become a master in their favorite profession. For instance, there are many well-equipped plumbing workshops and construction facilities in US prisons where inmates can use and even receive a reduced sentence if they acquire the necessary skills in a profession. By this method, at the end of the sentence, individuals can find a suitable job and earn an income, in which case there is no need to revert to illegal activities.

Returning to illegal activity, which is done by the former prisoners, has become a controversial problem. This essay discussed the main cause of criminals re-offending activities, and also suggested two solutions, including focusing on prisoners’ skills and upgrading their knowledge by increasing their study time, which certainly improves the issue.