Spending leisure time with families, is becoming less and less among adolescents. There are two main reasons for this issue, including gap generation, and social media, which caused some misunderstandings between families and youths. Although teenagers don’t have a lot of problems with this behavioral change, psychologists believe that negative emotional effects caused by this change will be enormous.

Over time, the gap between generations grows deeper and deeper. The reason for this can be considered the dramatic speed and momentary progress of technology. One of the most well-known changes in the development of technology is the emergence of social media, which is the previous generation could not communicate well with it, while most teens are completely dependent on it, they spend most of their time on social media. Most reports show that Teens spend more than 7 hours on screens for entertainment a day, so in this regard, recent studies illustrate teens’ screen time doubled over the last 4 years.

Most young people prefer to spend time with social media’s entertainment and believe that spending time in the virtual world is very useful, and also helps keep people's awareness up to date. In contrast, psychologists say this behavioral change is very harmful and may cause many mental and emotional problems for teenagers and their families. They believe that traditional communication between young people and adults, especially parents, not only maintains the sprits fresh but also controls people's stress and mental health. For instance, it is proved that families who have at least one reunion per month, have a higher pappiness index among others don’t have. As can be seen, positive sides are more outweigh than negatives.

Today, young people spend less time with their families. There are many reasons for this, such as a lack of mutual understanding due to generation gaps and rapid technological advances. In this essay, it was stated that although this issue is justified for many young people, but for many scientific experts, this change in the way of spending leisure time is rejected.