Many criminals reoffend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Over the past few years, a rising number of prisoners has reoffended after being released. This essay will look into major contributors underlying the reoffence and suggest some drastic solutions to address the issue.

The reoffence of prisoners after being released is a complicated issue with more than one cause. The most significant contributor is poverty and unemployment. Particularly, a criminal record makes finding a job more difficult due to social prejudice against prisoners. In other words, people who commit crimes often have no other way of making a living. A study has shown that a criminal record decreases the opportunities of a job offer by nearly 50 percent. That is because many employers perform a background check on potential employees so that managers can hire workers they trust. Therefore, people, who are not in the workforce, can not afford daily products and may commit a crime to make ends meet. Another notable contributor is the prison system. To be more specific, the prison system can make the situation worse since offenders mix with other criminals who can be a negative influence. Law offenders engaging in unlawful activities may learn how to commit a severe crime from convicts involved in atrocious crime. As a consequence, people serving a custodial sentence do not alter criminal behavior and they tend to enhance their criminal skills.

A number of drastic measures should be taken to reduce the crime rate of reoffenders after getting out of prison. The way forward might be for the government to bring in strict laws to punish criminals. The strict laws are introduced to bring fear in the mind of the potential offenders so that before committing the crime they know that they have to accept the severe consequences of their actions. Consequently, strict laws help the government to prevent criminal activities from transpiring in the first place since people may fear committing a crime. Another viable solution is to educate and raise awareness of young people. That is because young people are more likely to be involved in criminal activities since they have to face various challenges that make them particularly vulnerable to crime and violence. As a result, parents should teach children social skills, and schools should organize activities and programs to prevent delinquent behavior among students. For instance, a school in America launched a program to teach students about severe consequences they may bear in the event that they are involved in illegal activities.

In conclusion, wrongdoers may reoffend after they finish their term and leave prison. From my perspective, tackling recidivism depends not only on individual’s to be aware of the consequences but also on the government’s attempt to introduce strict punishment.