In some countries people prefer to live alone more often than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Solo living is increasingly popular in developed countries. It is evident that an increasing number of people embrace solo living in a number of countries in the world. Personally, I am of the opinion that this lifestyle brings about numerous benefits to individuals, but it takes a heavy toll on society.

On the positive side, single life has beneficial effects on individuals. The first advantage of single life is that singletons tend to become independent. That is because people living without a partner have far more freedom than people married and they do not need to take care of children. Research has shown that parents have to spend at least 2 hours per day looking after a child aged 5-14. An additional advantage of living alone is that people living by themselves can live the way they want. Living alone means that one-person households have their own space since living alone affords plenty of privacy. For example, people living on their own may potter round the house and curl up with a book without interruptions.

On the negative side, solo living poses myriad social problems. One major drawback of solo living is that it has a negative impact on the economy in the long run. Singletons help a little to push forward the economic growth due to the reluctance to buy expensive things. Compared to married people, people who live alone do not need to buy much household commodities since parents tend to spend a lot on commodities for their children, such as clothes, toys and so on. For example, in Australia, on average couples with children in the 5-14 age group reported a much larger average weekly grocery spend than singletons under 35, at $336 compared to $122. Another negative aspect of solo living is that the country may be in severe shortage of labor. That is because solo living has been linked to the lack of labor on account of low birth rate. Research shows that Japan has experienced the absence of labor since more people opting to live alone push the birth rate to decrease.

In conclusion, it is true that more and more people prefer to live alone. From my perspective, living alone brings not only positive impacts but also detrimental effects so people should choose the way they want to live.