Nowadays, showing brutal images and videos on TV shows and also in computer games has become a common theme in many countries. Certain demographic of society believes that showing these kinds of images is considered the main cause of increasing crime actions. This essay will argue that increasing crime is not as a result of what just said before, exactly contrary to these people’s beliefs.

Finding the root causes of rising crime has always been a major concern for governments in every country. Showing rough and wild behaviour in many films has reinforced this hypothesis, which insists on tending children, who are very interested in violent computer games and films to unethical and harsh behaviour. There is some evidence which illustrates around 30 per cent of American schoolchildren who have behaved violently at school have been influenced by violent films and have been modelled on them. So, this little example has created the wrong mentality.

Despite the minor effect of illustrating cruel pictures and videos on rising social crime, many sociologists believe that the main cause of tending to crime all around the world is poverty and matters related to penury. Meet the basic needs of every human is the most important force to lead people who are below the poverty line to crime. According to Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs, everyone should access to basic needs, and in case of absolute poverty, people tend to crime to access the lowest wealth for themselves and families. Overall, it can be concluded that the main cause of the increase in crime is poverty.

This essay discussed that increasing crime is not as a result of showing violent images in television and video games. In my opinion, the idea of increasing crime due to broadcasting savage images is completely rejected.