With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

In modern days, criminals are targeting the kids through the social media that only have limited guidance from the parents. This problem becomes one of the popular global issue that many people are looking for solutions. In this essays, two of the solutions, developer approach and parent approach, are explained.

Firstly, the social media developers should take responsibility to protect the kids from being targeted. One of the solution is to announce and limit the age of the people that can use social media. For instance, the biggest social media, Facebook, recently updated the policy not allowing to access children under the age of 10. Furthermore, it created a new software called Messenger for Kids which allows parents to keep in touch with their children without interfering with the strangers.

Secondly, a more serious approach that has been used by parents is restricting the usage of modern technology including social media until the children have developed the analysing skill. There are some drawbacks behind this approach. The children who are not allowed to use modern technology, might be outdated and unfamiliar with the topics that have been discussed in the school society. However, most parents accepted that limiting from modern technology is the best way to prevent kids from putting in dangerous situations.

To conclude, there are difference approaches to protect the youngsters and all people will require to discuss and work together to find solution for this problem with minimum consequences on the potential and childhood experience of the kids.