The difference in age between parents and their children has increased compared to the past. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The large age gap between children and their parents has increased recently. It appears that this trend can have damaging impacts on both children and their parents. I will explain why in this essay.

Firstly, in this situation, children and their parents often have varying attitudes towards life. This is because they come from two different generations. For example, parents who are about 30 years older than their children usually believe that their family is the most important priority in their life while their children think that the popularity among their peers is more significant and they tend to spend more time with their friends. In addition, a second and perhaps most drawback of the difference in age is to decrease the connection between family members since they have no common interests. In other words, they have completely different tastes in clothing, lifestyle, and also habits. In terms of clothing, for instance, children usually would like wearing some weird clothes such as the baggy ones with bright colors which may be unacceptable for their seniors. Thus, children and their parents always are put in a challenge which is caused by the generation gap.

It is true that very young parents who decide to have a child usually are inexperienced. Therefore, their children would not be totally safe in this type of family in terms of an appropriate nurture. Despite this, a long age gap can weaken the strong bonding between family members that would lead to a lot of abnormal behavior in households.

To conclude, although this trend could have negative consequences, it is occurring in a multitude of families in the modern world. It seems to me that if this trend is continued, it will be observed how the families will be in a serious trouble over time.