Discuss effect of Materialism and Consumerism in the individuals and society

It is common knowledge that we live in a consumerist world whereby people lie to own and consume. This habit of buying without reason is causing many problems for both individuals and society. The following paragraphs will discuss this this in further details and provide a reasoned conclusion.

Consumerism is one of the strongest forces affecting our lives in the modern day world. It does not simply driven with advertising, but it also contributed by idea in our society that to be happier, better and more successful people will have to project their status with expensive products. For instance, wearing a luxury brand of Rolex or Omega wristwatch is believe to exhibit a person’s status symbol. Thus, people tend to associate happiness for false material needs over functional needs.

Admittedly, this trend is leading to massive personal and social problems. People tend to stretch beyond their earning capacity for false prestige, thus, they lose focus on priority spending. Furthermore, due to peer pressure in school parents tend to buy specific product to fulfil child’s demand. This often results in spending for momentary happiness instead real value of the product. As a result of that, an unwanted psychological pressure and stress may create among parents to manage funds or find means to earn more.

In conclusion, society and the world we live in is sufferings at the hands of materialism and consumerism, in example, rise in corruption levels for increasing needs, stress to excel and earn more to spend. In my opinion, an understanding of the need for real value spending can negate some of these rising social problems and bring healthy balance in both individual’s life and society as whole.