Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In Kazakhstan, there is an issue in society about what type of impact the closure of regional businesses due to the widespread of shopping malls have on the regional community. Some sociologists believe that the impact would lead to the destruction of local communities. This essay disagrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is the loose bond between the closure of regional business and local groups of people. Apart from local companies, there are many other aspects of society that unit people in groups, including local traditions, customs, language and history. These components of society can withstand even if local business is completely shut down. For example, Karaganda city not only has survived but also has thrived since multinational companies entered and swallowed almost all small companies in the region in 2002.

Another reason why communities can survive once local business is annihilated by supermarkets is that the entry of large companies attracts more investment into the region. Local communities would benefit from the appearance malls in their areas since their introduction in the region arouse interest in other participants of the global market and could entice them to invest money as well. As a result, this would bring a positive effect, since local communities would have access to more job places and better services.

However, some sociologists guess that local societies would disappear along with local businesses. The main reason is that the end of local companies would result in a rise in unemployment. The unemployment would force many people to find jobs in other regions, and gradually people would relocate from the region, leaving only a small number of people working in these malls. Despite this, supermarkets would be able to employ all jobless people in the region. To maintain large premises and deliver products means the involvement of many workers, who can be found amongst locals if the local authorities oblige the owners to do that.

In conclusion, after analyzing, it is clear that it is pointless to worry about the future of local communities once supermarkets take control of the local market, since the region would attract more investors, and local people would be secured with jobs.