Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an issue about the effect of retail centers on congregations in the rural regions. Some social workers argue this effect is devastating, while the managers of these centers believe it is beneficial. This essay agrees with the idea of negative impact.

Let us start with the reasons why some social workers claim that towns will disappear with the appearance of large trading centers. The first reason is that regional entrepreneurs will move to other regions. Individual companies will go bankrupt, so many businessmen will be driven to open business in another community. Another reason is that many people will be unemployed. Many ordinary workers, such as cashiers and porters, will be jobless due to the dissolution of compact stories. Therefore, as well as the entrepreneurs, most of these job seekers will change their place. Furthermore, social facilities will gradually degrade. The owners of shopping malls will be reluctant to improve the quality of life in the society, as they live in other cities and solely want to make the maximum profit with less expenses on the citizens.

However, some shopping centers state that there is nothing threatening to rural area residents. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, they will secure consistent supply of products. Many towns often experience problems with the supplement of products because of their remote location, but, with the help of trading malls, the locals will forget this inconvenience forever. Secondly, they will open a plenty of vacancies in different departments. The organization of supermarkets is so large in size as well as level that they need many workers to maintain in good condition, which allow the unemployed to easily find a workplace. Moreover, they will attract investors. The presence of large markets will attract other business leaders from various regions, who will also develop their branches in the region and employ more citizens.

In conclusion, although some holders of supermarkets claim that there is no danger to the congregations in the countryside from their emergence, I think that these rural areas should grow without these trading centers, because they may shatter the settled bonds.